Arkansas Real Estate Requirements
Article Summary: Within the contents of this article, there is information involved for anyone who wants to understand the requirements to obtain an Arkansas real estate license. The knowledge provided may include licensing requirements, laws, education, renewals, continuing education, and broker requirements.
When it comes to Arkansas, The AR Real Estate Commission is responsible for all real estate matters within the state. This includes serving and protecting the public interest through examination and licensing requirements along with regulating real estate brokers and all salespersons. They aim at serving the public and ensuring the real estate marketplace has integrity and fairness as its core values.
In order to obtain a real estate license in Arkansas, one must be at least 18 years of age. There are 60 hours of required education at an approved school that must be achieved and the final course exam needs to be passed before someone can apply for the Arkansas salesperson licensing exam. Half of those hours should be in the basic principles of real estate. AREC has detailed information including approved schools on its website.
Each person is obliged to have a background check and provide fingerprints in order to take the Arkansas real estate license exam. The Arkansas and National portions of the Pearson Vue Salesperson Real Estate Exam need to be successfully passed at one of the five exam locations within AR. After completing the exam, an applicant must send the appropriate forms and fees to the AK real estate commission no later than 90 days after passing the exam for their real estate license.
There are 18-hours of completed AREC post-license courses required by a new salesperson by the end of the 6th month after the date of licensure. This course is only offered in person currently. Additionally, the state requires 7 hours of CE every year by December 31st. This includes 3 advertising hours, 3 elective hours, and 1 safety hour which can be viewed here.
Broker applicants must also be 18 years of age and complete 60 hours of real estate education. Out of those hours, 45 hours need to be Broker Pre-license education courses provided by the commission. These hours should be within 36 months before applying for the broker’s exam. Each person should also have been licensed and an active salesperson no less than 24 months within the previous 48 month period before the application. A new broker is required to finish 30 hours of classroom AREC post-license course hours within 6 months of the licensing.
Arkansas Real Estate License Requirements
Arkansas real estate agents have to go through a series of pre-license requirements before they are permitted to get their Arkansas real estate license. These requirements are put in place by the Arkansas Real Estate Commission, and they are designed to help you make the most of your potential new career. You have to meet a number of requirements before you are issued a license, and it’s not always easy to obtain one if you can’t meet these requirements. You must be at least 18-years-old, and you must be a U.S. Citizen, and that’s just, to begin with.
requirements for obtaining a real estate license in Arkansas:
Must be at least 18 years old.
Must be a U.S. citizen or lawfully admitted alien.
High School Diploma
Must have a high school diploma or equivalent.
Must complete 60 hours of approved Real Estate Principles courses.
Must pass the Arkansas state real estate exam.
Must pass a criminal background check.
For Broker License Requirements in Arkansas:
Must have been actively licensed as a salesperson for at least two years in the previous five years.
Must complete 60 hours of approved broker pre-license education.
Must pass the Arkansas Broker State Exam.
Continuing Education Requirements in Arkansas:
Must complete 7 hours of continuing education every year.
Post-Licensing Requirements in Arkansas:
New agents must complete an 18-hour post-license course within six months of obtaining their license.
Please note that these requirements can change, so it’s a good idea to check the official Arkansas Real Estate Commission (AREC) website or contact them directly for the most accurate and up-to-date information.
All new real estate hopefuls are required by law to complete 60 hours of real estate coursework prior to taking the exam. This includes 30 hours dedicated to the basics of real estate, and the rest includes the law and other applicable items. These classes have to be taken in a school or through an online portal accredited and approved by the AREC. You must pass the class, and obtain proof of your successful completion.
Once you complete the coursework required to obtain an Arkansas real estate license, you must then take the state exam. The exam is given weekly at all locations throughout the state, and the fee to take it is $125. This includes a $50 application fee for the exam as well as the $75 exam fee. You can take the exam as many times as it takes to pass, but you have to pay for it every time you take it.
Now that you’ve passed the Arkansas real estate exam, it’s time to submit your application for a license. This includes sending all the proof you need, such as a form of identification, proof you took and passed your classwork, proof you passed your exam, and permission for the AREC to run a background check. You must pass this, or you will be denied a license. You have 90 days to submit your application once you pass your state exam. The fee is $85.
You’ll be required to take an additional 18-hours of education following the receipt of your license. You have one year to do this. You can’t take this class until after you have your license, but you must complete the education prior to the 12-month deadline or your license becomes invalid, and you have to begin all over again to become an active real estate agent.
Disclosure:: Please be aware that these requirements change from time to time, we do our best to monitor the changes but it is always best to go to the source to confirm the requirements!