State of Wisconsin Real Estate License Requirements
Wisconsin Real Estate Requirements
Article Summary: In this article, one will learn the general details needed to know to get one’s real estate salesperson license in Wisconsin. The basic requirements can be learned through the following contents on education, examination, renewal and more…
The Real Estate Examining Board is located in Madison WI and is a part of the Departments of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS). The Board is responsible for establishing standards for the conduct of all real estate licensees within the state to safeguard the interests of the public. Their aim is to ensure there is no improper, fraudulent, or dishonest dealings within the industry.
In order to obtain a real estate salesperson license in WI, one must be at least 18 years of age. In addition, each candidate needs to have at least a high school diploma or GED along with being a U.S. citizen or a lawfully admitted alien.
There are a total of 72 classroom hours of commission-approved pre-licensing courses necessary. The program must be complete within four years before submitting the licensure application. If an applicant has received 10 credits in real estate or a real estate related law course from an accredited higher education institution, they may receive an education requirements waive from the board.
The state’s License exam must be taken at an approved testing center that is operated by Pearson VUE. More information such as location of testing centers and about the exam can be found through the downloadable Real Estate Candidate Handbook here. The Wisconsin Pre-licensing exam is a total of 140 multiple-choice questions to be completed within 4 hours of both state-specific and national real estate topics. The passing score one must earn is at least a 75.
Each applicant is considered on their own merits after submitting fingerprints for a background to be investigated. An individual is able to find out if they would be disqualified from obtaining the credentials due to their conviction record by applying to the Department for a pre-determination. All necessary forms and applications can be found on the DSPS’s website.
Every two years, a real estate licensee is required to renew their license. It is required that 18 hours of continuing education must be completed prior to license renewal, which must include completion of 3 hours for each of the 6 required course topics.