State of Alabama Real Estate License Requirements

Alabama Real Estate License Requirements

Article Summary: This article provides contents on real estate requirements in Alabama. Information on license eligibility, training requirements, school information, tests and exams, and license renewals, along with links to necessary forms. This will help any person looking into information in regards to real estate licenses in Alabama or anyone who has a desire to become a real estate agent in the state.  


The Alabama Real Estate Commission, located in Montgomery,  serves the state through licensing and regulating of all real estate licensees. Their vision is to ensure all real estate professionals in Alabama have excellence and integrity throughout the industry. They have nine governing leadership commissioners across the state to ensure integrity is upheld. 

Eligibility for a real estate license in the state of Alabama is charged by law that people engaging in the business have not been convicted of a felony or crime involving moral turpitude, and they have a reputation of honest, trustful, and truthful conduct. If someone does have any sort of criminal offense, they are able to apply for a Determination of License Eligibility to address a record with the Commission and receive a decision of eligibility before completing any education and examination requirements for a license. 

Other requirements for eligibility to obtain a Salesperson license in Alabama include being a U.S. citizen, be at least 19 years of age, proof of residency in a U.S. State, proof of high school graduation or the equivalent, and not have had a real estate application or license rejected or revoked in another state within a 2 year period. 

All applicants are required to successfully complete 60 hours of approved pre license course and pass the State exam within 6 months of completing the coursework. They also must finish 30 hour post license courses within the first 12 months of licensure to be issued a permanent (original) license. The original license must be issued and the course must be complete within the first six months in order to have an active license maintained. 

In order to obtain a Broker License in Alabama, a person must meet the requirement above. In addition, they must successfully complete 60 hours of pre license course work that is approved and must have had an active real estate salesperson license for a minimum of 24 months of the 36 period after the date of application in any state. 

The Alabama Real Estate Commission provides a course search tool to look for either classroom courses or distance education. They also provide the pass rate of over 100 options for schools that provide real estate coursework within the state. 

The requirement for license renewal can be found online. To remain current, both active and inactive licenses need to be renewed. Every two years, Continuing Education of a total of 15 hours (9 hours of approved courses and 6 hours of Risk Management) prescribed by the Commision is required for renewal. On every even year by September 30th, these hours must be completed. Electric Course Evaluation is provided on the Commision website

The Real Estate Licensing Examination is administered by appointment only at one of five exam centers in Alabama. The exam fee is $73. An exam can be scheduled online, by phone or by mail.  All the necessary forms you need can be found online.

Alabama Real Estate License Requirements

The requirements to become a real estate agent in Alabama make for a long list. Every salesperson who wishes to work in the real estate field must meet each requirement. The Alabama Real Estate Commission does not make exceptions for anyone who doesn’t meet the eligibility requirements. Before you pay for courses to become an active realtor in Alabama, you want to be sure you meet the requirements and know what all is involved in obtaining a real estate license.

Requirements:

Anyone hoping to become a real estate agent in Alabama must meet the following requirements:

– Be a US Citizen OR
– Be a permanent resident alien
– Be at least 19-years-old
– Be a US resident
– Have a GED or high school diploma
– Never been convicted of a felony
– Never had a real estate applications denied or revoked in any other state anytime in the past two years

Education

No one can become a realtor without taking the pre-license coursework. These courses are offered at various locations around the state, but they have to be approved by the AREC to qualify you for a license. These courses must contain 60-hours of coursework, but those you take online can take as much or as little time as you need so long as the 60 hours of coursework are present. Once you pass this class, you have 6 months to take your state exam. The course fee is dependent on a number of factors, such as taking it in person or online, the location, and the materials you purchase.

Exam

You have six months to take you exam, and you have to pass. The fee for the exam is $73. You can pay at the approved testing center the day you take your test with a credit card, cashier’s check, or money order. If you do not pass the exam the first time, you can retake it as you need. However, you do have to pay for the test each time you take it.

Application

Once you’ve passed your state exam, you submit your application for a license to the AERC. This must be filled out in its entirety. It’s available on the AERC website, or you can pick one up at your local testing center upon completion of your exam. You’ll send in $235 with your application. Of that, $25 is for the AERC to perform a criminal record search on you, $30 is a research fee, $30 is a recovery fund fee, and the other $150 is the application fee. Once your application is approved, you receive your license.

To keep your license active, you are required to complete 30-hours of post-license education within one year. Your first license is a temporary one, and you won’t be issued a permanent license until you complete this coursework.

State of Arizona Real Estate License Requirements

Arizona Real Estate Requirements 

Article Summary: This article provides guidance and steps a person should take in getting their Arizona real estate license. There is information  pertaining to the State of Arizona’s education, laws, license requirements, renwal information and more..


The Arizona Department of Real Estate or ADRE for short, is located in Phoenix, Arizona. They are responsible for overseeing the activity of all licensees within the state along with investigating any complaints filed along with the Dispute process. The ADRE also approves pre-licensing instruction, continuing education courses, and necessary testing. Their goal is to make sure the schools and courses have quality and accurate material. 

In order for an applicant to be qualified for an original real estate license, they must show acceptable character including honesty and truthfulness. Moreover, a person is required to be at least 18 years old at the time of applying for a license. Also, an individual must not have had a real estate license denial within a year or revoked for any reason within two years of the application. 

There are 90 hours required in classroom or online training for pre-licensing coursework at an approved Arizona real estate school. One must pass the examination at an ADRE approved real estate school, college, or university. Another license requirement involves a Fingerprint Clearance Card. These are issued by the AZ Department of Public Safety and the process can take as long as eight to ten weeks to receive. A person needs to attend a 6 hour Contract Writing class and receive a certificate before the license application. 

After the 90 hours of approved pre-licensing education is complete along with passing the final course exam and submitting the other required documents, an applicant must schedule and pass the Arizona Real Estate Exam. This is all done through Pearson VUE. A Fee schedule and more information is listed on the ADRE website. The Examination application and Examination Fees combined currently are $75 for a salesperson. The License Fee itself is $50. 

Applying for a license must happen within one year from the date of passing the national and state-specific portions of the AZ Real Estate Exam. A salesperson needs to hire on with a broker at the time of application or get hired on after licensing online. 

In order to qualify for a broker’s license, a salesperson with a real estate license must have proof of three years of full time experience within the five years after an original application. Completion of 90 hours of pre-licensing education through an ADRE approved school and passing the school’s final Broker examination in person is needed. They then should register and pass the Broker State Exam through Pearson VUE and apply for a license within one year of passing the state licensing exam. 

There is a convenient license renewal checklist provided by the AZ Department of Real Estate along with continuing education credit requirements frequently asked question guides provided. In each 24 month period, a licensee must go online and submit 24 hours of approved CE courses. 

Arizona Real Estate License Requirements
Becoming a real estate agent in Arizona is a bit more difficult than it is in other states. While most states allow students to take their pre-license coursework online if need be, that is not an option in Arizona. In addition to those coursework hours, all applicants must meet certain requirements. There are no exceptions. You either meet them all or forgo applying for a real estate license in Arizona.

Requirements

Before you begin the process of becoming a real estate agent in Arizona, you need to meet the basic requirements. You must be at least 18. You must issue your fingerprints for review, and you must disclose whether or not you’ve ever been convicted of any crimes or felonies, civil judgments, and whether or not any of your previous professional licenses have had any action taken against them. You must also pass a background check. It’s a stringent process.

Education

Anyone interested in taking the Arizona real estate license exam must be present for 90-hours of classwork called pre-license education at an approved facility. This must be taken at an approved real estate school in Arizona, and online courses are not permitted for this portion of the education requirements. You have to pass this class to become eligible to take the state exam.

Exam

Once you’ve taken the class, you have to pass the state exam. The fee is $75 each time you take the exam. Once you pass, you have to submit the real estate agent application, which is available online at the Arizona Department of Real Estate. The fee to apply for a license is $60. Before you can submit that, however, you have to take an additional 6-hours of education called the Contract Writing Class. You have only one year to submit your application for a real estate license following the successful completion of the state real estate exam. If you don’t, your exam score is no longer valid, and you’ll have to begin the entire process once again.

Before your license is approved, you must show proof that you’ve been hired into a broker’s office to work as a licensed real estate agent. Your new broker must approve your hire with the Arizona Department of Real Estate before your license is issued. This is something to discuss with the broker you want to work with to ensure they’re aware.

Disclosure :: Please be aware that these requirements change from time to time, we do our best to monitor the changes but it is always best to go to the source to confirm the requirements!

State of Arkansas Real Estate License Requirements

Arkansas Real Estate Requirements 

Article Summary: Within the contents of this article, there is information involved for anyone who wants to understand the requirements to obtain a real estate license in Arkansas. Knowledge provided may include licensing requirements, laws, education, renewals, continuing education, and broker requirements. 


When it comes to Arkansas, The AR Real Estate Commission is responsible for all real estate matters within the state. This includes serving and protecting public interest through examination and licensing requirements along with regulating real estate brokers and all salespersons. They aim at serving the public and ensuring the real estate marketplace has integrity and fairness as its core values.

In order to obtain a real estate license in AR, one must be at least 18 years of age. There are 60 hours of required education at an approved school that must be achieved and the final course exam needs to be passed before someone can apply for Arkansas salesperson licensing exam. Half of those hours should be in the basic principles of real estate.  AREC has detailed information including approved schools on its website

Each person is obliged to have a background check and provide fingerprints in order to take the real estate exam. The Arkansas and National portions of the Pearson Vue Salesperson Real Estate Exam need to be successfully passed at one of the five exam locations within AR. After completing the exam, an applicant must send the appropriate forms and fees to the AK real estate commission no later than 90 days after passing the exam for their real estate license. 

There are 18-hours of completed AREC post license courses required by a new salesperson by the end of the 6th month after the date of licensure. This course is only offered in person currently. Additionally, the state requires 7 hours of CE every year by December 31st. This includes 3 advertising hours, 3 elective hours, and 1 safety hour which can be viewed here.

Broker applicants must also be 18 years of age and complete 60 hours of real estate education. Out of those hours, 45 hours need to be Broker Pre-license education courses provided by the commission. These hours should be within 36 months before applying for the broker’s exam. Each person should also have been licensed and an active salesperson no less than 24 months within the previous 48 month period before the application. A new broker is required to finish 30 hours of classroom AREC post-license course hours within 6 months of the licensing. 

Arkansas Real Estate License Requirements

Arkansas real estate agents have to go through a series of pre-license requirements before they are permitted to become a licensed real estate agent. These requirements are put in place by the Arkansas Real Estate Commission, and they are designed to help you make the most of your potential new career. You have to meet a number of requirements before you are issued a license, and it’s not always easy to obtain one if you can’t meet these requirements. You must be at least 18-years-old, and you must be a U.S. Citizen, and that’s just, to begin with.

Education

All new real estate hopefuls are required by law to complete 60-hours of real estate coursework prior to taking the exam. This includes 30-hours dedicated to the basics of real estate, and the rest includes the law and other applicable items. These classes have to be taken in a school or through an online portal accredited and approved by the AREC. You must pass the class, and obtain proof of your successful completion.

Examination

Once you complete the coursework required to obtain a license, you must then take the state exam. The exam is given weekly at all locations throughout the state, and the fee to take it is $125. This includes a $50 application fee for the exam as well as the $75 exam fee. You can take the exam as many times as it takes to pass, but you have to pay for it every time you take it.

Application

Now that you’ve passed the real estate exam, it’s time to submit your application for a license. This includes sending all the proof you need, such as a form of identification, proof you took and passed your classwork, proof you passed your exam, and permission for the AREC to run a background check. You must pass this, or you will be denied a license. You have 90 days to submit your application once you pass your sate exam. The fee is $85.

Post-License Education

You’ll be required to take an additional 18-hours of education following the receipt of your license. You have one year to do this. You can’t take this class until after you have your license, but you must complete the education prior to the 12-month deadline or your license becomes invalid, and you have to begin all over again to become an active real estate agent.

Disclosure :: Please be aware that these requirements change from time to time, we do our best to monitor the changes but it is always best to go to the source to confirm the requirements!

State of California Real Estate License Requirements

California Real Estate Requirements

Article Summary: This article provides useful information about the real estate licensee process in the state of California. It will help anyone who has interest in knowing how to become a real estate licensee or Broker. There is insight provided on license requirements, approved education, examination and specifics on the department responsible for overseeing the industry within the state. 


The Governor of California appoints the Commissioner who served as the chief executive of The California Department of Real Estate (DRE). This department located in Sacramento, is responsible for the administration and enforcement of the Real Estate Law. This also includes all real estate matters of regulation, licensure,  and education. Under the department’s mission statement, it states their aim of being “an effective consumer advocate by monitoring and regulating industry practices while promoting public awareness.”

When it comes to basic eligibility, a person needs to be 18 years or older when they are applying for the state exam and be a U.S. citizen. Honesty and truthfulness are also listed under the requirements of the DRE’s website related to approval of a license. 

First-time licensee candidates are required to take 135 hours of pre-licensing education through an accredited school. These courses must be completed in three categories for 45 hours in each: Real estate Principles, Practice and an elective within 12-course options. One can take these courses either in person or online for the state of California.

After course materials are done, there are final course exams that need to be passed in the presence of a proctor. For an applicant, these 100 question exams are required to have a score of 70% or higher to pass. 

Once the course exams are passed and complete, the DRE manages state licensing exam scheduling and facilitates the licensing Application process on their website. The state exam is $60 to take and can be done at one of the California Department of Real Estate offices. These tests are held 3-4 times a week. More information on dates and availability are found here. A person must have a score of 70% or higher as well to pass. There are no limitations on how many exams a person can take in a 2 year period if they do not pass. Before receiving a license, each person must verify identification through an electronic finger-printing program called Live Scan and have a background check submitted with an application to be approved by the DRE.  

A salesperson is required to be sponsored by an Active Licensed California Broker before any transactions are done. A real estate salesperson licence is good for four years until it needs to be renewed. In order to renew, 45 hours of approved continuing education courses and the renewal fee are needed. These hours can be completed any time within the 4 years but the certificates should not be turned in until 90 days before a license expires. 

For someone wanting to have a Broker’s license in CA, they are required to have at least two years of full time licensed salesperson experience within the previous five years. In addition, eight specific college-level courses that are listed by the DRE have to be complete.  A score of 75% or higher is necessary on the state’s Broker Examination.

California Real Estate License Requirements

Passing the California real estate license exam takes time and dedication. Unlike many other states that require several hours of education to become eligible to take the state exam, the California Bureau of Real Estate requires all applicants to complete a staggering 135-hours of pre-license coursework in addition to meeting other stringent requirements. If you are interested in becoming a realtor in California, it’s imperative you become familiar with the requirements beforehand. You must be at least 18-years-old, a resident of California, and you disclose any criminal history you have.

Education

All applicants must take 135-hours of coursework from a BRE-approved higher education facility. These courses include Real Estate Principles, Real Estate Practice, and one course from a long list of other subjects including:

– Common interest developments
– Real estate appraisal
– Computer applications in real estate
– Property management
– Mortgage loan brokering and lending
– Real estate finance
– Escrows
– Real estate economics
– Business law
– Legal aspects of real estate
– General accounting
– Real estate office administration

You get to choose the third course per your desires. Only attorneys who have previously passed the California State Bar are exempt from this education. You must pass each course to move on to the next step of the real estate license process. The cost of each course varies depending on where you take it, how you take it, and the additional materials you purchase.

Examination

Once you pass your coursework, you get to take the California state exam to become a licensed realtor. You can take this exam at any of the BRE-approved locations, and you can take it as many times as you need to pass. The fee for this test is $60, and you have to pay each time you take it if you don’t pass the first time.

Application

When you pass the state exam, it’s time to send in your application. The application is found on the BRE website, and it must be 100 percent factual and complete. The fee to send in your application includes all the smaller fees for things such as your background check, and it is $245. Once your application is approved, you’ll receive your license in the mail and become eligible to work for a broker. You will take continuing education classes as required by your license every few years prior to your license’s expiration.

Disclosure :: Please be aware that these requirements change from time to time, we do our best to monitor the changes but it is always best to go to the source to confirm the requirements!

State of Colorado Real Estate License Requirements

Colorado Real Estate Requirements 

Article Summary: This article provides an overview of real estate requirements in the state of Colorado. It will help anyone looking for information pertaining to becoming a real estate Broker in Colorado or Employing Broker within the state. Contents may include insight into educational requirements, laws, exams, renewal and more.


For the state of Colorado, the Division of Real Estate within the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies is responsible for regulation of licensed real estate professionals within the state. They provide regulation and requirements within the industry and protect consumers. 

Unlike most states, Colorado refers to what most states would consider an agent or salesperson, a “broker”. There are two types of license issued which include a Broker License or an Employing Broker License . 

When it comes to getting a real estate broker license in Colorado, the first prerequisite starts with someone having to be at least 18 years of age. Fingerprinting and background checks are required, which can take several weeks for them to complete the process

Each person needs to successfully finish an approved 168 hours of Pre-license education. The qualifying education is made up of mandatory courses that are decided by the CO Division of Real Estate. There are specific required courses listed here. Each course has a final exam along with another exam after all hours are complete. This exam requires an individual to pass at 75% or higher. 

Once the education courses and exams are finished, each person should take and pass the Colorado Real Estate Broker Licensing Exam. These are administered at a PSI testing center and can be scheduled online. All fees and application forms can be found here.  After passing the exam, each person has to work with an Employing broker who would sponsor their license. They also must acquire an Errors and Omissions (E&O) insurance before obtaining an active license.

The continuing education requirements for license renewal include 24 hours of courses complete for each 3-year license cycle. The continuing education requirement for CO can be found on the division’s website

In order to become a licensed Employing Broker, a person must fulfill the work experience requirement. These requirements are based on a point system to track real estate work experience. There are a total of 50 points needed within the 5 years before an application. There is also a pre-licensing refresher course that needs to be fulfilled in order to upgrade a license to Employer Broker status. 

Colorado Real Estate License Requirements

Becoming a licensed real estate agent in Colorado is a bit different than most other states. Colorado is a state that’s referred to as a Broker-Only state. This means there are no salespeople. You have to become a licensed broker to obtain a license. It’s a lot of work, a lot of time, and a lot of dedication. It also means the basic requirements are stricter. All applications for a broker’s license must be submitted by a persona of at least 18 who can pass a state and national background check to prove good character.

Education Requirements

The Colorado Division of Real Estate Licensing requires all applicants for a broker’s license to take 168-hours of pre-licensing classes. These classroom hours are available by CDRE-approved facilities in both a physical classroom and online. The fees for these classes depend on where and how you take them, but they must all meet the same level of organization:

– 48 hours Real Estate Law and Practice
– 48 hours Colorado Contracts and Regulations
– 32 hours Practical Applications
– 24 hours Real Estate Closings
– 8 hours Current Legal Issues
– 8 hours Trust Accounts and Record Keeping

You must pass each portion of these classes with a satisfactory grade to become a licensed real estate broker in Colorado.


State Exam

To become a licensed broker in Colorado, you have to pass the state broker’s exam. It’s broken down into two sections: National Portion and State Portion. To pass the test, you must answer 60 of 80 national questions and 53 of 74 state questions correctly. The fee for this exam is $85 due upon registration for the exam, which you must do at least 24 hours prior to taking the exam. You can take any portion you don’t pass over again until you do, but not on the same day. You have to pay the exam fee every time you take the test.

Application Process

Before your application is sent off, you must go to the nearest police station and submit your fingerprints to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation. You can also do this at the exam location when you take the state exam, but you have to pay a fee. The application is available when you pass your exam, and it is due with a $400 application fee. Once this is approved, you become a licensed real estate broker able to sell homes in Colorado.

Disclosure :: Please be aware that these requirements change from time to time, we do our best to monitor the changes but it is always best to go to the source to confirm the requirements!

State of Connecticut Real Estate License Requirements

Connecticut Real Estate Requirements 

Article Summary: This article provides information and guidance on how to obtain a Real Estate Salesperson or Broker License in Connecticut. Insight within the contents may comprise of State Department information, educational requirements, exam scheduling, and renewal information. 


When it comes to Connecticut’s real estate industry, The Connecticut State Department of Consumer Protection is responsible for real estate licensing and all other enforcement through the Connecticut Real Estate Commission. This department is located in Hartford, Connecticut. The commission is made up of 8 combined licensed real estate brokers, salespersons and public members who are appointed by the Governor and electors of the state. 

Requirements to obtain a real estate Salesperson License in CT include being at least 18 years old, completing pre-license education, sponsorship by a licensed Real Estate Broker, submitting for a background check and fingerprints, and passing the State and National Exam within one year. 

A total of 60 hours of  CT commission-approved pre-licensing completed coursework is needed for applicants. All candidates for the Salesperson Exam need to be pre-approved by PSI before registering or scheduling the state examination. Once approved, PSI sends an examination eligibility postcard containing instructions for exam scheduling. Each person has the ability to take the exam an unlimited amount of times for up to one year of the date of eligibility. Both portions of the exam (General and State) have to be passed within one year of the eligibility approval. More information can be found on the PSI web page. The score of 70% or higher is necessary to pass the CT Real Estate Salesperson Exam. 

There are further prerequisites for a Real Estate Broker license. Before receiving approval and scheduling the CT Real Estate Broker Examination, there are an additional 60 hours of complete classroom courses specifically outlined and required by the Commission.  A Salesperson licensee must have at least 2 years of experience under the supervision of a licensed real estate broker within Connecticut. 

The CT’s Real Estate Commission provides information on forms and fees on their website. License renewal is required to be done by May 31st of each year. In every even-numbered year, continuing education must be completed and submitted before renewal of a license. There are 12 hours of CE courses required from an approved school. This includes two three hour mandatory courses and six hours of elective courses. Information pertaining to approved courses and schools are available here

Connecticut Real Estate License Requirements

If you want to help people achieve the American dream of buying a home in Connecticut, you have to become a licensed real estate salesperson. The expectations for a realtor are strict, but that’s common in the industry. All potential salespeople must be at least 18, a resident of Connecticut, and legally able to work in the United States. Once you meet each of those requirements, you’re able to continue with the education portion of becoming a licensed real estate agent.

Educational Expectations

When you decide to become a licensed realtor in Connecticut, you commit yourself to 60-hours of pre-license education. These classes can be taken online or in a classroom setting at any of the educational facilities approved by the Connecticut Real Estate Commission. Fees depend on when and where you take your classes. You must pass them with a satisfactory grade to continue the process of becoming a licensed agent.

Real Estate Exam

The real estate exam is the most important part of the entire process. You have to pass the state exam within one year of completing your pre-license education. The exam is 110 questions, and you have to pass with a 70 percent of higher. Each person taking the exam has to apply to take it online, and that costs $80. Once you are approved to take the exam, you have to call to make an appointment at a PSI facility, which costs another $52. You can take either portion of the exam over and over again if you fail, but you have to pay for it each time.

Application

Now that you’ve passed the exam, it’s time to send in your license application. This is given to you when you pass the exam, and it includes information the state needs to ensure you are eligible to become an agent. The fee is $80 to submit the application. The state submits your passing text score to the real estate division, so you need not worry about that. Once your application is submitted, you’re able to practice real estate in Colorado.

Following the issuance of your license, you are required to complete a certain number of continuing education hours every few years when your license is set to expire. If you don’t keep up with these requirements, your license is going to be deactivated and your ability to participate in sales transactions is suspended.

State of Delaware Real Estate License Requirements

Delaware Real Estate Requirements

Article Summary: Through this article, one can learn further details on what is necessary to get a real estate license in the state of Delaware. Basic Licensing requirement, minimum education, experience, examination requirements and information is contained within the summary below.


The real estate licensing authority for the state is The Delaware Division of Professional Regulation and is done through the Real Estate Commission. Their goal is to maintain standards to protect the public while also issuing licenses to real estate salespersons and brokers. 

The state of Delaware requires 99 hours of complete approved pre-licensing education. These can be done online or in person. These courses are accredited by the Delaware Real Estate Commission. Each person must pass the course final exam with a  minimum score of 80 percent or higher.

The next step includes scheduling and passing the Delaware state real estate exam, administered by Pearson VUE. This test is made of both state and national requirements and is 130 questions total. To be licensed, each applicant must first be sponsored by a Broker in the state and they complete the real estate employment portion of the license application. 

To obtain a Broker License in Delaware, an applicant must complete 99 classroom hours of broker pre-licensing education though an accredited institution. Separate from a state broker licensing exam, there is an end-of-course examination that needs to be passed with a score of 75% or higher to complete the course. 

The DE Broker experience includes submitting documentation of at least 30 sales or lease transactions during the five years prior to an application. Three out of the five years has to have been spent practicing real estate actively. Before applying for a Broker’s license, the DE Real Estate Broker Exam needs to be passed with a score of 75% or higher. This exam is also administered by Pearson VUE and can be scheduled on their website

Both salesperson and broker licenses are required to be renewed by April 30th of even years. The amount of continuing education necessary depends on when someone’s license was issued and can be found here

Delaware Real Estate License Requirements

Real estate agents are expected to work with the highest level of integrity in Delaware, which is why they are held to such a high standard. The requirements for all Delaware realtors are strict, and anyone hoping to apply for a real estate license must meet every requirement. You must be at least 18, you must have a clean criminal history, and you must meet all the education requirements put in place by the Delaware Real Estate Commission.

Education

Before you can apply for a real estate license, you must successfully complete 99-hours of classwork. This classwork can be done at a DREC-approved location or online through a DREC-approved program. These 99 hours include lessons in Real Estate Math, Law, and Practices. The cost for this course is dependent on variable factors such as whether you take the course in person, online, and how many additional materials you choose to purchase.

Examination

Following the successful completion of your real estate courses, you are eligible to sit for the state exam at a DREC-approved location. This exam must be passed, but you can take it several times to ensure you’re able to pass. The fee for taking the state exam is $94, which is payable every time you take the exam. It’s best to pass the first time around with a score of 70 points or higher. You only have four hours to pass the exam once you begin, so there is plenty of time.

License Application

Now that you’ve successfully completed all of the education required for a real estate license, it’s time to mail your application. It’s found on the DREC website, and it must be honestly and completely filled out. Missing information means your application is not processed, which is problematic. Your application must include a $133 fee, it must be notarized, and you must include any legal documents that show a legal name change. You must also have the broker you plan to work with sign the employment section. You must include certification of successful completion of your pre-license education and your state exam.

All licensed agents complete continuing education every few years after they are licensed. This education is required to renew a license. Your broker will discuss this with you as it is due, but you are responsible for paying for courses, completing them, and renewing your own Delaware Real Estate License.

Disclosure :: Please be aware that these requirements change from time to time, we do our best to monitor the changes but it is always best to go to the source to confirm the requirements!

District of Columbia Real Estate License Requirements

How do I get a D.C. real estate license?

If you are not licensed in any state as a real estate salesperson, you must complete a D.C. Real Estate Commission-approved 60-hour Pre-Licensing course on real estate fundamentals and laws. After completing the coursework, you must successfully pass the DC real estate licensing salesperson examination. Upon passing the examination, you can then apply for your real estate license endorsement.

If you are licensed as a salesperson or broker in Maryland or Virginia, the licensing requirements are different. Please see the District of Columbia Real Estate Commission licensing procedures for additional information if already licensed in these or other states.

How long does it take to get a D.C. real estate license?

The amount of time to get your D.C. real estate salesperson license varies. For example, if you are licensed in another state, the procedures for licensing are different than those for a first-time licensee. Factors to consider include completing any required Pre-Licensing education, taking the real estate licensing exam, and submitting the application for the real estate salesperson license. Most people complete their licensing requirements within four months.

How much does it cost to get a D.C. real estate license?

The fee to take the District of Columbia real estate exam is $61.50. The application fee for the D.C. real estate license is $240. Pre-Licensing coursework tuition and fees may vary depending on where you take your classes.

Will my D.C. real estate license be recognized in other states?

Many states have reciprocity agreements with neighboring or bordering states that allow them to work in those states, given certain requirements (such as passing a state law specific real estate course) are met and fees paid. Check with the licensing boards of these states to see what additional requirements you must meet in order to practice in their state with a D.C. license.

Does a D.C. real estate license have an annual fee?

There isn’t an annual fee to have a D.C. real estate license, however your D.C. real estate license must be renewed every two years on the odd year. To be eligible for renewal you must complete the 15-hour Continuing Education requirement and pay a renewal fee.



Disclosure :: Please be aware that these requirements change from time to time, we do our best to monitor the changes but it is always best to go to the source to confirm the requirements!

State of Florida Real Estate License Requirements

Florida Real Estate Requirements

Article Summary: This article contains helpful information for anyone who is interested in knowing the requirements to earn a real estate license in Florida. There are details below including the regulating Commission, necessary education, examination, renewal requirements, and more.


In the state of Florida, The Real Estate Commission (FREC) is responsible for overseeing the real estate license law. The seven members of the Commission appointed by the Governor, administer and enforce the laws in order to protect the public. Their responsibilities also include overseeing the education and regulation of all Real Estate licenses within the state. 

Like several other states, Florida required someone to be at least 18 years of age and have a high school diploma or GED to qualify for a real estate license. The FREC also must have received a clean background check and fingerprint scan before issuing a Florida real estate salesperson license. 

There are both pre-license and post-license hours necessary when it comes to the FREC regulations. An applicant must satisfy 63 hours of coursework for approved pre-licensing education. The education focuses on real estate laws, principles and practice, and real estate math which can be taken online or in a classroom. An exam at the end of the course that must be passed with a score of at least 70 percent. After someone has acquired their license during the renewal period before the license is set to expire, there are also 45-hours of post-education. The exemption can be provided for the post-license education with someone with a 4-year degree, or higher, in real estate. 

In order to apply and take the Florida real estate exam, fingerprints, an application, and a fee of $83.85 is required to be sent to The Department of Business and Professional Regulations. (DBPR). After an application is reviewed, the Pearson VUE company notifies an applicant via email and oversees the state exam process in a variety of formats and locations. When it comes to the Florida real estate license exam, a grade of at least 75 or higher is necessary to pass it. An initial license is valid for 18-35 months depending on when the exam is passed. For FL, a license has to be affiliated with a licensed broker with the appropriate forms filled out to be considered active. 

For a Broker License applicant, FL residency is not required. Although it is required for a person to have an active real estate license in any state for at least 2 out of the previous 5 years. There are 72 hours of broker pre-license courses required. The Florida Real Estate Broker Examination must be passed with a grade of 75 or higher. One must also complete a 60-hour FREC-approved post licensing course for brokers before the initial license first expires. 

Both Salesperson’s and Brokers are required to complete 14 credit hours of FREC-approved continuing education for each license renewal cycle. The renewal cycle is between 18 and 24 months after someone receives their initial Florida Real Estate License or Broker License. More information on renewal dates and fees can be found on the FREC’s website

Florida Real Estate License Requirements

Becoming a licensed realtor in Florida is a process, but it’s not a difficult one. The state requires all people interested in becoming a licensed realtor to take educational courses, pass an exam, pass a state licensing exam, and pay a fee. No realtor in Florida can open his or her own office until they are a broker, which requires the real estate agent to wait a specific length of time and take secondary class and exam. Before you do any of that, you must be at least 18 and a valid Social Security Number.

Pre-Licensing Course

The first step to becoming a licensed real estate agent in Florida is to take an approved pre-licensing course. All courses approved by the Florida Real Estate Commission are listed online, and they consist of a 63-hours in the classroom. These courses can be taken online, too. You can take the class now and use it for two years following the date you pass the class exam before you take your state license test. The fee for this class varies depending on where you take the class, how you take it, and what you choose to add in terms of books and supplies.

Application Requirements

Once you enroll in your class, you have to begin the Florida license application process. The application is available on the FREC website. To complete the application, you have to fill out all the information correctly and honestly. You have to pay to have your fingerprints electronically submitted to the state, and you must pay the fee associated with your state license. The application fee in Florida is $83.75, and the fingerprinting fee is $53.50.

Sales Examination

All students who pass their real estate pre-licensing course have to become licensed by the state. The state exam is available all over the state in proctored settings, and you can find those on the FREC website. You must pass the test with a 75 or higher. If you don’t, you can take the test again every 30 days until you pass. It costs $36.75 each time you take this test.

Activate Your License

Now that you’ve passed your state exam, you have to activate your brand new license. This requires submitting a DBPR RE 11-Become Active – Sales Associate form. Once it’s approved, you are ready to begin selling houses in Florida.

To keep your license active, you must complete post-licensing courses every two years. These classes consist of 45-hours you can take in person or online. They must be completed and passed by the time your license expires every two years.

Disclosure :: Please be aware that these requirements change from time to time, we do our best to monitor the changes but it is always best to go to the source to confirm the requirements!

State of Georgia Real Estate License Requirements

Georgia Real Estate Requirements

Article Summary: In this article, there will be specific details outlined on requirement to obtain a Real Estate License in the state of Georgia. Below, there will be information provided including who administers the license law in Georgia, educational requirements and approved schools, examination, continuing education, renewals and more.


The Georgia Real Estate Commission and Appraisers Board (GREC) is responsible for administration of the license law, which regulates brokers and salespersons within the state. This regulatory body makes it clear on the fact that their role is to protect the public interest fairly and impartially. 

Georgia’s general requirements to obtain a Real Estate License include being at least 18 years old, having a high school diploma or GED, and passing a background check. 

In order to satisfy the educational requirements, a person must complete 75-hours of Salesperson Pre-licensure Courses at a school approved by the GREC. As a replacement, they can instead complete a minimum of 10 quarter hours or six semester hours of coursework from a U.S. or Canadian accredited college or university. There is also a 25-hour salesperson post-license course required within the first year of a license to be sure it does not lapse.

The Georgia Real Estate License Exam is administered by Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP). Before taking the state exam, one is required to obtain a Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC) report of a person’s criminal history. This can be received at any local police department or sheriff’s office. This report needs to be turned into AMP before receiving a license. 

The examination fee due of $121 covers all fees due during the first four years of a license. The minimum score to pass the exam is 72%. After the exam is passed, it is necessary for an applicant to apply for a license within 12 months of taking the exam to avoid having to take the exam again. The GREC’s website provides more information on the exam such as scheduling information and what to expect in regards to exam formatting. 

Another important factor in the license application includes a completed Sponsoring Broker Statement form in order to have an active real estate license in GA. When it comes to license renewal, an individual is required to complete 36 hours of Commission approved continuing education within each four year renewal period. Out of the 36 hours, 3 hours must include the topic of License Law. 

A Salesperson applying for a Broker License, must be at least 21 years of age. They are also required to successfully complete a 60-hour Broker’s Pre License Course at an approved school or complete a minimum of 15 quarter hours or 9 semester hours from an accredited college or university within the U.S or Canada. The necessary experience to obtain a Broker License includes an active status for at least three of the five years before the application. More information on applications and fees can be found here

Georgia Real Estate License Requirements

The Georgia Real Estate Commission allows any Georgia resident who is at least 18-years-old with a valid Social Security Number and a high school diploma or equivalent to obtain a real estate license. There are a number of requirements a person must meet to be eligible for a Georgia real estate license, and each one is relatively easy to understand. The requirements are stringent, but it’s for the protection of other agents, buyers, and sellers.

Education

No one can obtain a Georgia real estate license without first meeting the Real Estate Education requirements. This includes successful completion of 75-hours in a classroom or online. This is the salesperson pre-license course. These courses must be completed at a school or through a program approved by the GREC. Fees vary by location and available options.

You can skip this class if you have passed 6 semester hours/10 quarter hours of coursework at an accredited university while working on real estate major. Official transcripts are required proof for this. You can also use the 75-hours of pre-license coursework from another state if you can prove it’s been approved in said state.

Background Check

All applicants are required to go through a background check to see if they have a criminal history. Only those who pass the background check are eligible to receive a real estate license in Georgia. It’s recommended you submit permission for this prior to taking your courses. Some criminal background check notes are eligible for appeal, but those are handled on a case-by-case basis.

Examination

The Georgia Real Estate Examination is the most important part of the licensure program. You cannot practice real estate without a license, and you have to pass this exam to obtain a license. You can take the test as many times as you want until you pass, but it costs $115 each time you take it. You have to submit your application following the exam, which is available on the GREC website. The fee to apply for the exam within 3 months of completing your pre-license education is $170. The fee goes up to $340 if you wait longer than 3 months. If you wait longer than one year to apply for your license, your state exam scores become invalid.

Post-License Education

Once you are license, your license expires every four years. Before you can renew, you have to take 36-hours of continuing education. Without this, your license cannot be renewed. You can activate your license right away by working with a broker, or you can list it as inactive and find work when you decide it’s time to activate your license in Georgia.