State of Oregon Real Estate License Requirements
Oregon Real Estate Requirements
Article Summary: Contained within this article is insight into what it takes to obtain a broker license in Oregon. Summaries below will help anyone to understand the license requirements along with the steps to licensing such as initial qualification, applications, education, examination, and more..
The mission of the Oregon Real Estate Agency is to provide protection for the state’s consumers of real estate. Their offices are located in Salem, OR. The Oregon Real Estate Board members are appointed by the Governor and their duties include providing advice on all real estate industry matters, review proposed rulemaking, and make recommendations on the license examination process and more.
The requirements for all applicants looking to obtain a broker real estate license (Called a salesperson in most states) in Oregon include being at least 18 years of age, proof of high school graduation or equivalent, and being a US citizen or permanent resident alien.
Each applicant will start with registering for an account on the Agency’s online license management system, eLicense. The next step includes applying for a broker license and paying the $300 nonrefundable application fee in eLicense. After the application is processed, each person will receive an Applicant ID number by email to be used in the rest of the licensing steps.
There are 150 hours of prelicensing education that broker applicants must complete. Within the 150 hours, the Agency requires seven courses which can be found on the Oregon Real Estate Agency Website along with the Agency-approved real estate schools.
One can schedule an exam after their courses are complete with the exam provider, Psychological Services, Inc. (PSI) Each person’s fingerprints are taken at the testing center at the same time as a license examination. These are processed through the Oregon State Police (OSP) and the FBI.
In the state of Oregon, all real estate brokers must be sponsored by a licensed Oregon principal broker in order to practice. The sponsor and applicant will both complete and submit the Registered Business Name Association form to the Real Estate Agency, and a license will be issued after.
The Agency has a step by step guide on how to go through licensing renewal in their system listed here.
The first renewal for a licensee includes needing a 3-hour Law and Rule Required Course and 27-hour Broker Advanced Practices. After the first renewal, one is required to take a 3-hour Law and Rule Required Course and a minimum of 27 additional hours of Continuing Education in required topics within 2 years before renewal.