Mississippi Real Estate Requirements
Article Summary: This article will summarize the general real estate license requirements within the state of Mississippi. For anyone interested in knowing what steps are required to obtain a salesperson or broker license, information provided below includes the governing agency, education, examination, and renewal.
In Jackson, MS, the Mississippi Real Estate Commission (MREC) is the governing agency that oversees the commercial real estate industry within the state, licensing all salespersons and brokers. Their goal is to make sure commerce is done in an ethical and professional manner. Their set of rules for all licensees is in place to protect the consumer.
In order to comply with the MREC regulations, one must be at least 18 years old and be a resident of the state when applying for a license.
Pre-license courses necessary include 60 hours of approved real estate course. Once the course is passed, each person should complete and return an application for Resident Salesperson License.
Once the application is approved, one can move on to take the MS real estate license exam. The general portion of the exam has a minimum passing score of 70% and the state portion is 75%.
A temporary license is issued after an individual passes the state licensing exam and is active for one year from the issue date. First-time renewals must take 30 hours of post licensing courses within 1 year of licensure. Exams are administered by PSI Services, LLC and site location cities include Jackson, New Orleans, and Baton Rouge. PSI Real Estate Salesperson and Broker Examination candidate information bulletin can be found here.
Mississippi’s license renewal cycle is every 2 years on the anniversary of initial licensure. The continuing educational requirements are 16 hours of courses including 8 hours of MS License Law, Contract Law and Agency Law.
For someone to obtain a broker’s license in MS, they must be 21 years of age and have residency in the state. The experience required of active real estate salesperson experience is 12 months. Next, a licensee must successfully complete 120 hours of required courses and pass the real estate broker exam.