State of Wyoming Real Estate License Requirements
Wyoming Real Estate Requirements
Article Summary: The article below will help guide anyone searching for what it takes to obtain a salesperson license in the state of Wyoming. Summaries include steps to be taken below include education, examination, renewal and more..
The Wyoming Real Estate Commission is responsible for administering the Real Estate License Law under the Wyoming Secretary of State. Their offices are located in Cheyenne, Wyoming. The main mission they outline is to protect and assist the consumers of all real estate transactions in supporting honest real estate licensees through education, licensing protocols, and enforcement.
The starting qualification for obtaining a license includes a person being at least 18 years of age and having a high school diploma or equivalent. Applicants must submit fingerprints that are reviewed to be sure an individual bears a good reputation for integrity, honesty, and trustworthiness.
WY requires at least 54 hours of commission approved real estate education courses that consists of 30 hours of Salesperson I and 24 hours of Salesperson II course.
The state’s licensing exam has a total of 130 multiple choice questions (with national and state-specific portions) to be completed within 3.5 hours. One must earn a score of 75 to pass the Wyoming Real Estate Sales Associate Exam. The 16 cities in Wyoming that one can take a real estate exam are listed here.
Real estate professionals in the state are required to renew their license by December 31st every three years. There are 45 hours of approved continuing education courses that need to be successfully completed during the renewal period. The necessary courses that must be completed each period include 8 hours each of Marketplace issues, Contracting, Trust Account and Closing, and Practical Applications. Every Wyoming licensee is mandated to provide proof of errors and omissions insurance to the Commission.