State of West Virginia Real Estate License Requirements
West Virginia Real Estate Requirements
Article Summary: Contained within this article is information on how to obtain a real estate salesperson license in the state of West Virginia. This will help anyone looking to understand the general real estate requirements including education, examination, renewal and more..
The West Virginia Real Estate Commission was established in 1937 and consists of five members appointed by the Governor to serve for four year terms. Their office is located in Charleston, WV.. Supervising and regulating all business related to persons who have any interest in real estate within the state are some responsibilities listed by the Commission.
In order to apply for a license in West Virginia, one must be at least 18 of age or older, have at least a high school diploma or GED, and be a U.S. citizen or a lawfully admitted alien.
In WV, an individual is required to complete 90 hours of real estate commission approved pre-licensing that cover a comprehensive list of topics. The course needs to be complete during the five-year period before the date of the application to be accepted. The 90 prescribed courses should consist of 30 clock hours of Real Estate Principles and Practice along with 20 clock hours each in Real Estate Law, Finance, and Appraisal. Each applicant must score 70% or higher in each subject to be eligible for licensure examination.
When applying for a salesperson license, the application must be signed by a Broker who holds an active Broker license in the state. Applicants are mandated to submit fingerprints for a state and federal criminal background check prior to approval of an application.
One an application is approved by the commission, one’s information is sent to PSI for testing. PSI is the states exam administrator who contacts each candidate to schedule an examination. The West Virginia Exam has a national and state specific portion with a total of 150 multiple choice questions to be completed within 3 hours. In order to pass the exam, candidates must have a score of at least 75.
When it comes to licensing renewal, every licensee is required to submit seven hours of continuing education for each fiscal year. Courses approved by the commission are listed here.