Vermont Real Estate Requirements
Article Summary: Contents of this article will help anyone learn the basic real estate licensing requirements in the state of Vermont. Details below can be found on the governing agency, education, examination, renewal and more.
The Vermont Real Estate Commission is the governing agency for the real estate industry under the Office of Professional Regulation, of the VT Secretary of State’s office. Their goal is to protect public interest through granting licenses to persons of good reputation along with enforcing the real estate laws.
Each applicant for a license must be 18 years of age or older. There are 40 hours of education necessary that must be taken at a Commission approved real estate school before examination.
Further licensing requirements in VT include being sponsored by a Vermont broker and a license application being submitted within one year of a passed exam is complete. The State and National examination is a total of 130 questions to be completed within 4 hours. It has a passing score of at least 70%. The VT licensing exam can be scheduled through the state’s administrator, AMP.
The renewal requirements in VT include completing 16 hours of real estate continuing education and renewing a license by May 21st of even-numbered years. The CE also includes a 4-hour mandatory course. For the first licensing renewal, proof of completing 8 hours of post education within 90 days of a license being issued is required.
Disclosure :: Please be aware that these requirements change from time to time, we do our best to monitor the changes but it is always best to go to the source to confirm the requirements!