Utah Real Estate Requirements
Article Summary: This article will assist someone who is looking to be informed on what it takes to receive a real estate sales agent license in Utah. More insight can be found below on education, examination, renewal and more..
The Utah Division of Real Estate is the head of protecting the public in Utah through licensure, education, and regulation of the law to ensure responsible practices. Their offices are located in Salt Lake City.
A person must have earned a high school diploma or GED equivalent and be at least 18 years of age before enrolling in a real estate license program. In order to show honesty, integrity, reputation, competency, and truthfulness, each individual must be able to pass a background check.
Utah mandates 120 hours of pre-licensing approved education. Approved real estate programs are listed on the Division’s website. Before applying for a license, the education must be finished no longer than one year ahead of time.
The state’s real estate exam must be successfully completed and passed in person at a Pearson VUE testing center. A license request needs to be made within 90 days of passing the exam. The exam contains 130 questions in total for both national and state sections with a minimum passing score of 70%.
For the first renewal, licensees are required to take 18 continuing education credit hours of education that consists of a 12 hour New Sales Agent course and 6 hours of either core or elective courses. In the following renewal periods, each person needs to complete 18 CE credit hours with 9 hours of approved core topics and 9 hours of elective topics. Every 24 months by the 15th month of expiration is when the CE requirements are required to be submitted.
Disclosure :: Please be aware that these requirements change from time to time, we do our best to monitor the changes but it is always best to go to the source to confirm the requirements!