Texas Real Estate Requirements
Article Summary: Contents of the article will assist anyone looking to understand what it takes to receive a real estate sales agent license in Texas. Summaries below include more information on pre-licensing education, examination, renewal and more..
The Texas Real Estate Commission is located in Austin and is made up of nine Governor appointed members who serve for six-year terms. This governing agency provides licensing, education, and complaint investigation along with regulation and enforcing the state laws to serve and safeguard consumers within the real estate industry.
The starting qualifications to obtain a real estate sales agent license includes being at least 18 years of age and a U.S. citizen or a lawfully admitted alien. In addition, each individual must be fingerprinted and pass a background check to meet TREC’s qualification for integrity, honesty, and trustworthiness. A fitness determination can be requested by a candidate before they apply for the license.
There are 180 hours of pre-licensing mandatory hours which includes 60 hours of Principles of Real Estate and 30 hours each of Law of Agency, Law of Contracts, Promulgated Contracts Forms, and Real Estate Finance courses. Commission approved institutions are listed online.
In TX, the license exams are administered by PearsonVUE. Once course completion documents are sent to TREC, they will send a notice with instructions for scheduling the exam along with a copy of the exam Candidate Handbook. The Texas real estate exam is broken into a national and state section with a total of 110 questions with 150 minutes to complete. The minimum passing score on each section is 70%.
Texas mandates that an applicant find a sponsoring current and active real estate broker within the state in order to apply for a license.
For a first two year license renewal, licensees must complete an additional 90 hours of qualifying real estate course credit hours including 8 hours of current legal update courses. In the subsequent two year license period, one must complete 18 hours of continuing education that consists of 8 hours of legal education as well as 10 hours of relevant elective accredited education.