State of South Dakota Real Estate License Requirements
South Dakota Real Estate Requirements:
Article Summary: Contents of this article will help anyone looking to discover what it takes to obtain a real estate license in South Dakota. Further Information is outlined below on topics such as pre-licensing education, examination, renewals and more..
The South Dakota Real Estate Commission is the governing body responsible for enforcing standards and the Real Estate Licensing Act within the state. They do this through regulation of standards in licencing, education, and practice of all licensees. The goal of the Commission is to protect the public interest during all real estate transactions. Their offices are located in Pierre, SD.
To obtain a Broker Associate license (salesperson license in some states) in South Dakota, one must be at least 18 years old. As part of the process, applicants are required to submit to a state and federal criminal background check. The Commission is allowed to use their discretion to determine who has the ability to become a real estate agent and is not a threat to the public based on the background check results.
In SD, there are 116 hours of approved pre-licensing education necessary. These can be taken online or in a classroom. In order to take the state’s licensing exam, an individual must pass the course with a score of at least 75%.
The South Dakota Real Estate Exam can be registered and scheduled to be taken in Sioux Falls and Rapid City. Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP) administers the exam via computer. Both the national and state portions of the exam must be passed with a score of at least 75.
Each applicant is required to work with a Broker for a real estate application to be approved by the Commission. The applicant needs to be submitted within 60 days of receiving the notice of passing examination.
The licensing period in South Dakota is every two years. Each licensee must complete 24 hours of continuing education including 12 hours that are in required core subject areas. For someone who is in the first licensing cycle, the state mandates 60 hours of post-licensing coursework that builds on real estate principles.