State of Nevada Real Estate License Requirements

Nevada Real Estate Requirements 

Article Summary: This article contains helpful information for anyone seeking to obtain a real estate salesperson license in Nevada. Summaries below include the initial requirements, education, examination, and license renewal. 

The Real Estate Commission is under the Nevada Real Estate Division (NRED) of the Department of Business and Industry and is a five-member body chosen by the governor. They act as an advisory to the Division and are responsible for the regulations of the industry within Nevada. According to the NRED, their mission is to protect the public and make sure there is fair regulation of real estate professionals with registration, licensure, education, and enforcement. 

The initial license requirements include being at least 18 years of age and having a high school diploma or equivalent. Each applicant must have a background check and fingerprint card and the process is laid out on the Commission’s website

There are a total of 90 hours of prelicensing education for NV. This includes 45 hours or 3 college credits in Real Estate Principles and 45 hours or 3 college credits in Real Estate Law (Including 18 hours in Nevada law). The list of approved schools in the state can be found here

Once an individual achieves the minimum credit hours of school, they are eligible to take the real estate exam. Registration is done through Pearson Vue. The passing score is at least 75 percent or higher. 

In Nevada, each licensee must work under an employing broker. Their signature will go on the license application with $125 fee, school certificate, fingerprinting, background check, and passing results for each exam to the real estate division. The physical license can be delivered in two weeks to a couple months. 

An original real estate license is valid for a one-year period ending on the last day of the month it was obtained. There are 24 hours of continuing education required to be submitted to the NRED along with a renewal fee of $180. For subsequent years, renewals are valid for 2 years. 

Similar Posts