State of Nebraska Real Estate License Requirements
Nebraska Real Estate Requirements
Article Summary: Within this guide, one can learn some details on what it takes to receive a Real Estate license in the state of Nebraska. Basic requirements are included along with insight into the governing board, educational courses, exams, renewal, and more..
The Nebraska Real Estate Commission has seven members chaired by the Secretary of State and six members appointed by the Governor. Their primary responsibilities are licensing and regulation of real estate salespersons and brokers. Their office is located in Lincoln, Nebraska.
The age requirement for obtaining a salesperson license in Nebraska is 19 or older. An applicant must also have a high school diploma or equivalent.
The NE Real Estate License Act requires that all applicants go through a criminal background check through fingerprinting. This process can take 4-6 weeks until the Commission receives the full report. This must be done before applications for licensure are considered complete.
An individual needs a total of 60 classroom hours (2 courses) of commission approved courses when it comes to pre-licensing.
Examination can be scheduled once the Commission approves of eligibility after the application is submitted. A candidate information bulletin can be found through the exam administering company, PSI. The passing score of the Nebraska Real Estate Salesperson Exam is a score of at least 75%.
In order to remain in active status in NE, each licensee must have errors and omissions Insurance coverage and proof of coverage on file with the Commission. The renewal deadline for a two-year salesperson license is December 2nd and expires on December 31st. The continuing education necessary includes 18 hours of completed approved education.
To obtain an associate broker or broker license, one must have at least 2 years of full time salesperson experience or part time equivalent, and 60 clock hours (2 courses) in Pre-License education (including 6 hours of Professional Practice Standards course).. An applicant needs to also pass the state licensing exam with a score of at least 75%.