State of Montana Real Estate License Requirements
Montana Real Estate Requirements:
Article Summary: This article aims to provide insight and information on the real estate license requirements for anyone looking to obtain a salesperson real estate license in the state of Montana. Summaries below include contents on the regulating board, pre-licensing education, examination, renewal, and more..
Located in the city of Helena, the Montana Board of Realty Regulation oversees the real estate industry within the state. This Board is a part of the Montana Department of Labor and Industry. Their purpose is to protect the welfare of citizens in the state. The regulating Board is responsible for all licensing and regulation of the realty laws for MT.
The general Montana real estate license requirements begin with needing to be at least 18 years of age. In addition, an applicant must have received credit for completion of 2 years of full curriculum study at an accredited high school or equivalent including a tenth grade education or higher.
There are sixty hours needed of pre-licensing instruction from a real estate school that is approved by the board. The Approved education courses are listed here.
One must pass the Montana real estate license exam within the previous 12 months of license application. A score of 80% or better on the uniform portion and 70% or better on the state portion is necessary to pass the exam. PSI administers the exams within 6 testing center options throughout the state.
In MT, each salesperson licensee is obligated to get broker affiliation and employed or under contract with a licensed broker. The cost of a real estate license is $185.
Each new salesperson licensee is to complete the mandatory continuing education requirement, known as the 12-hour Rookie Course within 120 days after their original license is issued. There are 12 hours of continuing education necessary for an active license every year. The licensing year is from November 1 through October 31st.
To obtain a Broker license within the state, the regulations include being 18 years of age, having a high school diploma or equivalent, and completing 60 hours of pre-licensing board approved instruction. Two years of experience as a licensing salesperson with 30 points of completed experience also are required. Finally, the MT Broker Examination should be passed with a score of 80% on both the uniform and state portions.