State of Missouri Real Estate License Requirements
Missouri Real Estate Requirements
Article Summary: This article includes steps one can take to obtain a real estate salesperson license in the state of Missouri. An outline of information within the contents include the governing commission, pre-qualification, education, examination, and license renewal.
The Missouri Real Estate Commission (MREC) is a part of the MO division of Professional Registration and is located in Jefferson City, Missouri. The Commission makes sure to carry out the real estate license law statewide. They take care of licensing, approve pre-licensing, continuing education and investigate any complaints within the industry.
The first prequalification for someone to obtain a real estate license in Missouri include being at least 18 years of age.
Each person must successfully complete an approved 72 clock-hour Pre-licensing course including a 24 hour Real Estate Practice class. After course materials are finished, applicants will have to pass a practice exam and final course exam with a minimum score of 75%.
PSI administers the real estate licensing exam for the state. One can take the exam at one of four PSI test centers offered by appointment five days a week in St. Louis, Kansas City, Springfield and Jefferson City. Applicants need to apply for their license within six months of finishing the school requirements.
Fingerprints for a MO federal criminal history background check are required of all applicants for a license and done through a statewide vendor, IDEMIA, before obtaining a license.
The deadline to renew a salesperson license is September 30th of each two year license period (On even numbered years). A minimum of 12 hours of approved real estate instruction continuing education credit is required by MREC.
When it comes to a broker’s license in Missouri, an applicant is required to successfully complete a 48-hour broker education course. In addition, they must have an active MO salesperson license for 24 of the previous 30 months before an application. Lastly, the State’s Broker Exam must be passed.