State of Massachusetts Real Estate License Requirements
Massachusetts Real Estate Requirements
Article Summary: Within this article, a person interested in understanding the requirements necessary to obtain a real estate salesperson license in Massachusetts, can find some helpful insight. Summaries below include knowledge of the regulating board, approved education, examination, license renewal requirements, and more..
Located in Boston, MA and within the Division of Professional Licensure, the Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Salesperson is responsible for regulating the education and licensing of real estate professionals.
The first requirements to obtain a real estate license in the state of Massachusetts, is being at least 18 years old. Pre-licensing approved education includes taking a 40 hour Massachusetts real estate course. The course can be taken either in person or online.
The course completion certificate is required to apply and take the real estate license exam. The MA real estate exam includes 120 questions broken down into the National section and Massachusetts real estate law section. Each section requires a score of at least 70% in order to pass.
PSI Exams is responsible for administering and overseeing all exams within the state. Testing centers are located in Boston, Lawrence, Auburn, Fall River, and West Springfield.
The license fee for MA is $150 and the license is given after the exam is passed and the fee is paid. To maintain a real estate license, MA mandates salespersons to complete 12 hours of continuing education within two years of receiving a license.
When it comes to a broker license, an applicant must have at least 3 years of work experience as a license salesperson with a brokerage and be bonded for $5000. A couple more requirements include completing another 40 hour course and passing the Maryland real estate broker’s exam.