State of Alaska Real Estate License Requirements
Alaska Real Estate License Requirements
Article Summary: This article provides insight for someone who is looking into how to receive a real estate license in Alaska. Guidance regarding licensing requirements, approved real estate schools, education, examination, and necessary forms are contained within this write-up.
The Alaska Real Estate Commission, which is a Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing is located in Anchorage and is responsible for the support of real estate licensees. Their mission is to ensure licensing practitioners are supported and excellence and standards in the industry are protected.
The Commission includes two public members and five real estate brokers who work together to ensure the laws governing the practice of real estate in Alaska are implemented. They approve educational instructors and courses, make final licensing decisions, and take any necessary disciplinary action towards anyone who violates the laws in place.
Some of the requirements for licensing for a real estate salesperson in Alaska include being at least 19 years of age, and not being under any indictment for fraud, felony, or other crimes that the commission would judge to affect a person’s ability to practice as a real estate licensee.
An applicant is required to complete 40 classroom hours of approved pre-licensing education from one of the approved list of Real Estate Schools. They then can take the appropriate exam within 18 months of course completion. Once passed, it is necessary to apply for licensure within six months. The Salesperson license by Examination application has to be submitted for licensure under a broker along with the licensing fees.
Post Licensing Courses of 30 hours are required to be completed within one year of receiving a license. Furthermore, 20 hours of Continuing Education needs to be finalized every two years and license renewal must be finished by January 31 on even-numbered years.
The fee for the examination is $100 and administered by Pearson Vue Testing Service electronically by the Commission. Anchorage, Fairbanks, and Junaeu are all areas that offer the examination in various time frames. Exam information and all appropriate forms and applications can be found online.
Additional requirements for an Associate Broker’s license includes completing 30 approved classroom hours of broker training and passing the Alaska real estate broker exam. A person must also have real estate be their principal occupation and for at least 36 consecutive months within the last 60 months they have had a real estate license.
Alaska Real Estate License Requirements
Becoming an active real estate agent in Alaska is a simple feat if you meet the requirements set in place by the state Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development’s Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing division. The requirements here are similar to what they are in other states. You need only be at least 18-years-old, have high school diploma or the equivalent, and you must have a valid Social Security Number. Once you have all of that in hand, you can begin the process of becoming an agent.
Alaska law requires all hopeful real estate agents complete a 40-hour pre-license course at an approved school or through an approved online course. This course teaches all the laws and rules associated with the real estate industry in Alaska. Once you complete the course with a passing grade, you move on to the next portion of the licensing requirements.
You must pass this exam before you can submit an application to become a real estate agent. You must pay a $100 fee to take this test, but you can take it as many times as it takes to pass. You must pay the fee each time, however. Once you pass, you begin the next phase of the license requirements.
The Real Esatae Salespesron Application by Examination is the next form you have to fill out. You can pick it up at your testing center or find it online. The application must be submitted within 6 months of passing your state exam or your score becomes invalid. The fee for submitting your application is $530. Once your license application is approved, your license is approved.
All realtors must complete 30-hours of post-license education one year after the date your license is issued. Your license expires on January 31 of years that end in an even number only, unless it was issued within 90 days of the expiration date when you first received it. Then it will continue to the following expiration date. The state does require all people who are in default repaying student loans or child support are issued a nonrenewable temporary license that’s only good for 150 days until you are able to take control of payment issues and get up-to-date with them.
All licensed agents have the ability to become a broker, but the requirements are different. Your real estate license and broker’s license are two different licenses with different requirements.
Exam Prep Material
Below is a link to the Alaska Real Estate Exam Prep, you can find more study material for the nation real estate exam on our recommended books page.